top of page

{Polaroid Instax Mini 70}

hey y'all! what's up? I know this isn't a recipe but I thought this would be fun. So as mentioned before, my birthday was a little while ago, and one of my favorite gifts was from my mom, a Polaroid Instax Mini 70! It is the newest one right now with a shoulder and hand strap, and selfie mode. I absolutely love polaroids and ever since Brooke got her's last Christmas, I wanted one. I got the gold one, (Im obsessed with anything gold 😂) and so this was PERFECT! Here are some of my tips and tricks that I've learned.

1) Don't reference you picture through the view finder because it doesn't perfectly align with the actual lens, so you'll end up with a cropped picture. (I speak from experience)

2) Don't go stingy with the film! I am always paranoid and get really picky about my film, my mom jokes that

I get anxiety when I have to spend film. I know it's kinda expensive but if you buy the twin pack, or even the 50 pack, you can feel more comfortable snapping away!

3) Selfie Mode: Ok so theres a little mirror on the side of the lens where you can see yourself. However, it is not 100% percent accurate so I recommend holding the camera out farther than a usual selfie so you get everyone in. Also, be sure to look at the lens not the mirror, or else you look kinda...distracted.

4) The...other modes: So I tried multiple times to take a picture of my succulent and they were either off centered or blurry. By pressing the "mode" button, different symbols will appear on the small screen that tell you what they are used for, such as a flower, mountains or the words 'high-key'. Each one repositions the lens and focus range. For instance, the flower will send the lens out further but the mountains will spin it and pull in.

Anyways, if anyone is interested in buying a Polaroid, there are so many more tips and things you should know beforehand. I'm Lex and thank you so much for visiting the Brooklyn Bakers.☺️

xxx, Lex

"flower" mode

2.25.17 It was such a beautiful day, Harlow got lots of sun so she looked so happy!! visit Brooke's post on "the little things" to find out where we bought them.

I'd like y'all to meet my newest friend, and baby succulent, Harlow Rae 💜 I'm hoping to complete a post on succulent care soon!

blurry and unfocused...first shot of Harlow.

This is my mom, the first person to get a successful shot of my camera-shy succulent. (She figured out how to differentiate the modes! #gomom)

Harlow chilling with the Polaroid 😄... succulents don't look as perky when the sun's not out so don't worry, she's not dying, she picks herself back up every morning!

Ok so I'm like the crazy cat lady with my lil echeveria plant so here's one last pic of Harlow before you go. (and no, plants do NOT have genders, one of my friends just named her Harlow haha)

bottom of page